« AnteriorContinuar »
years ago on the History of the Old South Church in Boston. These sermons were published, with a series of notes which turned to the best account all the information relating to the church then accessible. In 1883 an Historical Catalogue was printed, containing a list of the members from 1669 to 1882, together with the names of those who had owned the covenant. At the annual meeting of the society in 1884 the preparation and publication of a more complete history were determined upon, and, soon after, the present work was undertaken.
The author's plan at the beginning was to print in full the records of the church and society down to a recent date, and all the more important papers which had been preserved, with sketches of the ministers, officers, and members, so far as material could be found for this purpose, and, as a setting to the whole, and in order to its better understanding, to make mention of the principal events, secular as well as religious, which the church had witnessed, and to recall, to some extent, the circumstances in the midst of which its members had lived and labored. It soon became apparent, however, that so far as related to the records, if the work were to be compressed within reasonable limits, it would be necessary either to give only an abstract of them for the entire period of the church's history, or to print them in full for a portion of the time. The author decided upon the latter course, and those with whom he consulted concurred in the decision. Accordingly, the records are given in full for about a century and a half, or down to and including the ordination, in 1821, of the Rev. Benjamin B. Wisner, while only the more noteworthy events of his pastorate, and of the pastorates of Dr. Blagden and Dr. Manning, have
been dwelt upon. The history closes with the installation in 1884 of the present minister, the Rev. George A. Gordon.
After the first part of the history had been written, the attention of the author was called, during a visit in New Haven, by Professor Franklin Bowditch Dexter, to an old manuscript in the library of Yale University relating to the Old South Church. Upon an examination of this manuscript it was found to be an account, prepared by a committee of the church in 1693 or 1694, of the circumstances which led to the formation of the church and of its early experiences. This long-forgotten document, to which we have given the name of the Third Church Narrative, was so much more complete than the record books of the church, and contained so much that seemed interesting and important, that the rewriting of the first two or three chapters became necessary. Professor Dexter superintended the copying of the Narrative, and has taken a most kind interest in its publication. This document, with the diaries of John Hull, Samuel Sewall, and Joseph Sewall, throws much light on the history of the church and its membership for nearly a hundred years. In the transcription of the records and other papers, as the aim of the work is historical rather than antiquarian, the original spelling has been followed for the most part, but not the old-time abbreviations, which too often perplex the reader of the present day and obscure the meaning of the documents.
To any one engaged in historical investigation it is a great privilege to have access to such libraries as those of the New England Historic Genealogical Society, the Massachusetts Historical Society, and the Boston Athenæum, and to the Congregational Library, the Boston Public Library, the University Library, Cambridge, and the Seminary Library, Andover. This has been the privilege of the author, and he hereby expresses his appreciation of the courtesy which has been extended to him in his frequent use of these rich depositaries. He desires to make special acknowledgments to his honored and much esteemed friend, Mr. John Ward Dean of the Historic Genealogical Society, whose advice and assistance from time to time have been most valuable. Important suggestions and aid, also, have
been received from the Hon. Peter Thacher, Professor Edward E. Salisbury, the Rev. Dr. Samuel E. Herrick, Mr. George Lamb, Mr. Samuel Sewall, Dr. Samuel Abbott Green, the Rev. Edward G. Porter, Dr. George Frederick Bigelow, and Mr. Samuel Johnson. To the chairman (Mr. Joseph H. Gray) and members of the standing committee of the Old South Society, the author returns his thanks for their hearty and appreciative coöperation.
To this list it was intended to add the name of the Rev. Henry W. Foote, the beloved minister of King's Chapel, but he has been called away from the associations of earth to join the generations of the redeemed in heaven.
The etchings of Old Washington Street and Old Milk Street, which appear as the frontispieces of these volumes, follow two very interesting pictures owned by Mr. Abbott Lawrence, and painted probably between the years 1830 and 1840. Mr. Lawrence cordially allowed the pictures to be drawn for this work, and took much pains personally that the best result might be secured. Dr. Fitch Edward Oliver, also, afforded every facility for copying the portrait by Copley of his ancestor, LieutenantGovernor Oliver, and Messrs. Ticknor and Company gave their ready permission to take drawings from the Memorial History of Boston of the mansion houses of Edward Bromfield and William Phillips. The Bibliography appended to the second volume has been compiled by Mr. Appleton P. C. Griffin of the Boston Public Library.
There never, perhaps, has been a better understanding of the fathers of New England, or more clear and just discrimination in reference to them and their work, than now prevails. Their descendants are beginning to judge them not so much by what was external, incidental, and accessory in their lives, as by their character, their principles, and their purposes, and, also, by what they accomplished. Even the Puritan theology, in its spirit and essence, is beginning to be understood more intelligently, and estimated more fairly, under the influence of the intellectual and spiritual quickening which has come, of late, to the Congregational and other churches of New England. The annals
contained in these volumes have been collated and edited with some appreciation of the earnest lives and faithful labors which they serve to illustrate, and with the highest admiration for them. On the part of those who shall read the record, may there be at the least as much appreciation of these lives and labors, and as hearty a sympathy with them.
BOSTON, October 10, 1889.
TABLE OF CONTENTS. .
A Fast Day
THE DISPUTE BECOMES A POLITICAL QUESTION.
John Hull's Diary. — Extracts from the Records of the Salem Church. – Mr.
Davenport's Election Sermon. – Differences in the General Court. – Memo.
rial from Hadley and Northampton. — A Joint Committee appointed. — Two
Reports. — Communication from the Magistrates. — A Paper from the Dep-
uties. — Another Paper from the Deputies. A Letter from the Deputy-
Governor. — A Day of Humiliation appointed. — An Election. — The House
of Deputies changed. - Memorial of Fifteen Clergymen. - Report on the
Memorial. — Seventeen Deputies dissent