« AnteriorContinuar »
worthy to be known." Yet the author seems to have been sometimes more studious to please than to inform ; and with a view to have sacrificed even chronology to method *.
The Hon. Daines Barrington observes t, that Baker is by no means so contemptible a writer as he is generally supposed to be; “ it is believed,” says that author, “ that the ridi. cule on this Chronicle arises from its being part of the furniture of Sir Roger de Coverley's Hall,” as described in the Spectator.
Sir Richard was grandson of Sir John Baker, one of the privy council to Queen Mary I. who had a grant of the capital messuage and manor of East Farleigh, near Maidstone, in Kent, upon the attainder of Sir Thomas Wyatt, to whom it had formerly belonged. Sir John devised it to his son John, whose son Sir Richard alienated this and all his other estates toward the latter end of the reign of Elizabeth, in consequence of an engagement which he had made to pay the debts of his wife's family. He afterwards threw himself into the Fleet Prison, to avoid the importunity of his creditors; and having composed, in that prison, his Chronicle, and several books on Divinity, besides trans. lating Malvezzi's Discourses on Tacitus, and Balzac's Let. ters, died in confinement, overwhelmed with poverty and distress. He was buried in St. Bride's church, Fleet Street, February 19, 1644-51.
At the south end of Walbrook was a conduit, rebuilt at the charge of the City in 1568 ; but having been consumed by the Great Fire, its site has been laid into the street. This was denominated" the Conduit upon Dowgate.” The descent of the street from this conduit to the water-gate, called Dowgate, was so precipitate, that in consequence of a flood, a lad, eighteen years of age, was drowned, as has been before related $.
BUDGE Row, was so called from being the residence of those citizens who dealt in budge, or lamb-skin fur, and of skinners. In this street is the parish church of
* Granger. + Observation on the Statutes. I Granger, Hasted's Kent, Malcolm's London. $ Vol. II. p. 507.
ST. ANTHONY, VULGARLY CALLED ST.-ANTHOLIN.
WHEN this church was first founded, is uncertain ; but it appears that a cell of St. Anthony, of Vienna, was founded by Henry the Second. The church was re-edified by Thomas Knowles, grocer, mayor, and his son, about the year 1399. John de Wells, mayor, in the year 1431, built the south isle of the church; and John Tate, citizen and mercer, rebuilt the church in the year 1513.
It was repaired and beautified in 1616, at the cost of 1000l. toward which Mr. Henry Jay, alderman, Sir William Craven, and others, bountifully contributed. This fabric was demolished by the fire in 1666, and the present structure finished in 1682.
The church is built of stone, and covered with lead, the outside being of the Tuscan order ; but the roof within, an ecliptical cupola, with four port-hole windows, is supported by eight pillars of the Composite order.
This cupola is adorned with fret-work of festoons, &c. the walls are lined with wainscot seven feet high, and the whole is well pewed.
A beautiful gallery at the west end, of wainscot, contains a good.organ.
The pulpit is venècred, and ornamented with cherubims, fruit, &c.
The altar-piece is of wainscot, and confists of four cơ lumns of the Corinthian order, fluted, with entablatures and two pediments; the inter-columns are the Lord's Prayer, Creed, and in the centre the Commandments, in frames Carved and gilt, surmounted by a glory, and three gilt .cherubims; above these are the arms of England, on each side of which are two lamps, &c. the whole beautifully enriched with festoons, fruit, palm branches, &c.
The Communion table, a large marble slab placed on a carved frame, is inclosed by a rail and bannister, and the choir paved with black and white marble; on the north fide of the church stands a marble font, with a carved cover. A large branch is suspended from the centre of the roof.
The length of the church is sixty-six feet, breadth fiftyfour, and heigth forty-four feet.
A neat tower, terminated by a beautiful spire, highly ornamented with port-holes, pannels, crockets,' &c. ; in al.. titude about one hundred and fifty-four feet, was designed by Sir Christopher Wren; and built by Mr. Cartwright.
Among the benefactors, besides those already mentioned, Stow records Henry Colett, mercer, mayor, and Thomas Hind, mercer, but not the sums they gave. Given to the Poor.
£ 5. d. 1581. Mrs. Elizabeth Martin
1000 0 Mr. William Garret
100 1586. Mr. Robert Haws Mr. George Patin
0 0 Mr. William Parker, for a stock
50 0 0 1625. Mr. Robert Parker
100 0 1655. Mr. Henry Colbren
127 10 Sir William Craven, annually
4 0 0 A MONUMENT in the old church, had the following epitaph: Vol. III. No. 55,
Here lyeth graven under this Stone
And Nineteen Children they had in fear. Here are prayers every evening at six, and also a sermon preached by six clergymen, who have each an annual sti. pend, out of which they pay the reader. · This lecture was founded by the contribution of the parish and several other worthy persons.
Opposite St. Antholin's church is a street denominated Tower ROYAL, from the following circumstance, In antient times, a fortress of remote date and foundation, was erected here, in which, it is reported, king Stephen lodged. In the reign of king Edward I. it was the tenement of Simon Beawmes; but in the thirty-sixth year of the reign of Edward III. according to Froissard, it was called the Royal, in the parish of St. Michael de Pater noster; that monarch in the forty-third year of his reign granted it to his college of St. Stephen, Westininster, by the name of his Inn, called the Royal, in the city of London, of the value of twenty pounds per annum.
That this was a place of great strength is evident from the circumstance of the princess Joan, mother of Richard II. making it a place of retirement, when Wat Tyler's rebels had gained possession of the Tower of London. The Tower Royal at this time was named the Queen's Wardrobe. In the year 1386, Leon III. king of Armenia, having been driven from his realm by the invasion of the Tartars, visited Richard in this palace, and received very considerable gifts from the king of England and the nobility, besides a pension of 10001. yearly during his life.
We do not find by what means this mansion reverted to the crown; but it was afterwards granted by Richard III. to his friend and supporter, John, the first duke of Norfolk, and
it is probable that the Tower Royal continued in the possession of his family till the attainder of Thomas, his grandson, in the reign of Henry VIII. after which the palace of the Tower Royal was, in the reign of Elizabeth, converted to stabling for the king's horses, and ultimately divided into tenements, which were consumed by the fire in 1666, though the remembrance of its antient consequence is still preserved in the name,
Nearly opposite Tower Royal is COLLECE Hill, so called from a religious foundation by Sir Richard Whittington, lord mayor of London, the latter end of the year 1396, 1397; 1406, and 1419; so that he was four times mayor.
This foundation consisted of a college for a master, four fellows, masters of arts, clerks, conducts, choristers, &c. and an alms-house, called God's-house, or hospital, for thir. teen poor men. One of these to be tutor, and to have 16d. per week; the other twelve to have 14d. each per week for ever, with other necessary provision, an hutch with three locks, a common seal, &c.
We have before stated * that these were to pray for the good estate of Richard Whittington and Alice his wife, their founders; and for Sir William Whittington, knight, and dame Joan, his wife; and for Hugh Fitzwaren, and dame Molde, his wife, the fathers and mothers of the said Richard Whittington, and Alice, his wife; which we think a suffi. cient proof that Sir Richard Whittington was the descendant of a very respectable and honourable family, and there is a tradition that the family was either from Shropshire or the adjoining counties. The story of his poverty and the cat, therefore can only continue to entertain those who deal in the marvellous and extravagant stories of Jack the Giant Killer, and other narratives of equal importance.
The licence for building this college was first granted by Henry IV, in the eleventh year of his reign; and in the next year, the mayor and commonalty of London granted to Sir Richard a vacant piece of ground, on which he was to build his college, in the Royal. The foundation was confirmed by
* Vol. I. p. 92.