« AnteriorContinuar »
Since the year 1814 the whole of the dividends has been given to two Eshibitioners on Mr Gilberd's foundation, being equally divided into two payments, each of £30 per annum.
1806. In the indenture, which was made between Richard Down, Edg., and the mayor and burgesses of Tiverton, it was declared that in consequence of his having transferred £700 three per cent. consols to the mayor and burgesses in trust, that they should pay to a scholar, nder eighteen years of age, educated at Tiverton School for three Fears, after having entered at some college in Oxford or Cambridge, the dividends arising from the £700 consols for the period of seven Fears from his entrance at such college, unless within that time he should cease to be a member thereof, or, being of the age of twentythree years, should refuse to take orders, or accept any benefice with cure of souls of the annual value of £150 ; provided also that such scholar should be entered at some college within three months from the time of his nomination. If no fit and proper scholar, born in Tiverton, and qualified as aforesaid, should be found, the dividends ate to accumulate till some scholar properly qualified shall be nomimated: and the money accumulated during that time shall be paid by she mayor and burgesses to and for the benefit of such scholar to be next thereafter nominated, at such time and in such manner as the persons so nominating should direct and appoint.
The nomination was reserved to the founder himself and then to his son, and, after his death, to be vested in the mayor of Tiverton, the upper master of Blundell's school, and the rector of the portion of Tidcombe in the parish of Tiverton.
THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.
FOUNDED 1670, A, D.
This school was founded and endowed by Thomas Crispin, a native of Kingsbridge, and a merchant of the city of Exeter.
1698. William Duncombe, M. A. of King's College, Cambridge, the first master of the school, having held that office for twenty-eight years, by bis will devised some houses and lands, and ordered that £10 annually should be paid to "one, two, three or more such boys, being poor, as the estate will permit, and my executors shall think fit, and shall have had their education and learning in the said free-school of Kingsbridge four or three years at least, and shall from thence go to
the University of Oxford or Cambridge." By Lord Langdale's de
ez in 1847, it was ordered that an exhibitioner be elected every year, a receive £50 a year for four years, and that he must have been five yn at the school, and not exceed the age of nineteen years at the tim élection, which takes place on the 25th June in each year. examiner is appointed by the Bishop of Exeter, who is visitor of school, and it is his duty to recommend or not, any candidates the exhibition. A certificate from the master is also required. 1 thirty boys on the foundation have a priority of claim, and the rest the scholars are on the same footing. A boy's pecuniary circumstan are generally taken into the account.
FOUNDED 1606, A.D. The Free Grammar-school of Ashburton was founded by Willia Werring, Esq. who gave lands for its endowment in the third year the reign of James I. The original endowment has since be augmented by other benefactors.
1637. Laurence Blundell, Esq. by his will gave the sum of yearly issuing out of his lands at Ashburton, to a poor scholar of d said parish, for four years while resident at the University.
Mr Blundell also gave the sum of £6 a year, issuing out of th same estate, to a poor scholar of Ashburton, for his maintenance at grammar-school and at the University, if he should be fit for The appointment of this scholar is vested in the heirs of Mr Blundell? executors.
The are besides two scholarships at Exeter College, Oxford, for pupils from this school.
FOUNDED 1547, A.D. THE Free Grammar-school of Crediton owes its origin to the wisdom and liberality of King Edward VI. The appointment of the master is vested in the twelve governors of the church of Crediton.
In the reign of King James I. an information was exhibited in the Court of Exchequer, and in the year 1624 a decree was issued, which directed among other things, that £20 of the revenues should be paid
Fearly towards the maintenance of three poor scholars of the school of Crediton at the Universities, namely 20 nobles to each of thein yearly for five years after they should be at the University, and no longer, and then other three to have like allowance successively.
These exhibitions have been considerably augmented.
THE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL. The school at Tavistock was connected with the abbey in that place ; but on the suppression of the monasteries by King Henry VIII. the school, with the abbey-lands, came into the hands of the Duke of Bedford, in whom they were subsequently vested by an Act of Par. biament. The school-house and the residence for the master have of late years been rebuilt by the Duke of Bedford, by whom also £80 a year is paid to the schoolmaster.
1649. Sir John Glanville, knight, granted to trustees, by indenture, an estate at Brentnor, and directed that out of the profits thereof, not less than £6. 13s. 4d. yearly should be paid to a poor scholar from the school at Tavistock, for his better maintenance at the University of Oxford or Cambridge, until he should obtain the degree of Master of Arts. The profits now amount to about £40 per annum.
FOUNDED 1551, A.D. This school was founded and liberally endowed by king Edward VI. in the fourth year of his reign, upon the petition of the inhabitants of Sherborne and many other persons. By the original charter twenty of the principal inhabitants of the town of Sherborne were appointed governors, with powers to elect new governors as often as vacancies should happen, and to make rules and statutes for the government of the master and scholars, as also for the preservation of the estates and revenues of the school. The schoolmaster must be a master of arts at least, and the usher a bachelor of arts, but the statutes do not require eicher of them to be in holy orders. Both the master and the usher are appointed by the governors.
The governors have from the revenues granted four Exhibitions for scholars from this school to either of the universities of Oxford or
Cambridge. Scholars are eligible for these exhibitions after having bee four consecutive years at least at the school on the foundation.
The value of these exhibitions is £40 a year, and they are tenabl for four years, if the exhibitioner keep his terms and conduct himse with propriety.
FOUNDED 1579, A.D. THE Free-school of Dorchester was built by Edward Hardy, Wyke, near Weymouth; his endowment bearing date the 30th August, in the twenty-first year of the reign of Queen Elizabeth.
1657. John Hill, by will bequeathed the sum of £100, to be lai out by his executors in the purchase of lands, to be conveyed to th mayor and aldermen of Dorchester, upon trust, that the yearly rents such lands should, as a yearly exhibition, be paid towards the main tenance of a poor scholar, “born of poorish parents," inhabitants Dorchester, educated and brought up in the school there, and thene sent to one of the universities, from his admittance till he should com mence Bachelor of Arts.
Dr Gower, master of this school, and afterwards of St Paul's School, London, founded two Exhibitions each of the value of £7. 101, per annum, for sons of clergymen, scholars from this school or Paul's, at St John's College, Cambridge.
1847. The feoffees of the school established two Exhibitions, each of the value of £30 a year, for three years, at either University.
COUNTY OF DURHAM.
FOUNDED 1541, A.D. THE Grammar-school at Durham is coeval with the foundation of the Cathedral Church by King Henry VIII. and is under the contri of the dean and chapter. By the statutes, it is ordained, that the master be required to teach the eighteen boys on the foundation, and all others that shall resort to the school.
1537. Hugh Ashton, Archdeacon of York, founded at St John's College, four Fellowships and four Scholarships, and provided that
one fellow and one scholar should be elected of persons born in the diocese of Durham. (See p. 309.)
154. Thomas Patynson founded a Scholarship at Christ's College, for a student, a native of Northumberland or of the diocese of Durham, to be nominated by the dean and chapter of Durham. (See p. 295.)
1699. John Cosin, D.D. Bishop of Durham, founded five Scholarships at Peterhouse, Cambridge, each of the value of £10 a year for students from this school. (See p. 210.)
1724. William Hartwell, B.D. by his will devised property for various charitable uses, and directed that out of the rents, £20 per annum should be applied towards the maintenance of two Exhibitioners at either University from that school or that of Newcastle-on-Tyne, who were to receive £10 per annum,
tenable for four years. These exhibitions are now each £15 a year.
1773. Rev. Michael Smith, D.D. founded one Scholarship at Emmanuel College, of £16 a year, for a scholar educated at this school of Newcastle school. (See p. 368.)
Nathaniel, Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham, left a bequest for various uses, one of which was, that exhibitions of £20 a year should be given to young men proceeding from the grammar-school at Dur. ham to either of the Universities of Oxford or Cambridge.
FOUNDED 1574, A.D. THE Grammar-school and alms-house of Kepyer in Houghtonle-Spring owe their origin to the Rev. Bernard Gilpin, rector of Houghton-le-Spring, who on account of his excellent character and usefulness was called " the Apostle of the North.”
This good man, observing the scarcity of learned men able to preach the Word of God, conceived the thought of a seminary of good literature, and erected a school. house, allowing a maintenance for a master and usher.
The foundation charter bears the date of April 2nd, 1575, and appoints governors with power to make, revise, and from time to time, alter the statutes of the school.
The first governors probably never exercised their power of enacting statutes. Mr Gilpin during his life directed the whole administration of the school; and having it continually in contemplation to increase