« AnteriorContinuar »
parish so many foreigners as the whole number may be well tat and applied, and the place can conveniently contain, by the judgi and discretion of the governors. And of the foreigners, he may such stipends and wages as he can get, except that they be of the dred of John Lyon the founder; so that he take pains with all in ferently, as well of the parish as foreigners, as well of poor as of ri but the discretion of the governors shall be looked to, that he And the rule orders, "that those who are unapt to learn, shall, a one year's pains taken with them to small profit, be removed from school."
The last rule conveys a discretionary power to all future govern of the establishment, by which they are empowered to amend, alter abolish any of the existing rules, as the change of time and mann may require, with the advice of the master, and to substitute other! their stead.
In the year 1809 a portion of the parishioners of Harrow, a ceiving the benefits they derived from the free school not being co mensurate with their expectations, formed a committee with i avowed intention of attempting, by legal means, to confine the bene of the institution to what they considered its ancient narrow limi and to correct such other alleged abuses as time or innovation h effected.
An appeal was in consequence made to the Court of Chancery, at was heard before the Master of the Rolls, Sir William Grant, who, the 17th August, 1810, pronounced judgment in favour of the scho "as at present constituted," being in accordance with the original tentions of the founder.
John Lyon, the founder of the school, originally instituted for Exhibitions, two of which were for scholars proceeding to Gonville an Caius College, Cambridge, and two to Oxford. In 1818 these exhi bitions were each of the value of £20 a year. The number of exhibitions has subsequently been increased to eight, each of £30 a year, tenable for four years at any College or Hall in either University.
Mr John Lyon also gave two Exhibitions to Gonville and Caius College for students from Harrow School. (See p. 237.)
1830. John Sayer, M.A. founded at Caius College two Scholar ships for students from Harrow School. (See p. 241.)
1840. Isabella Gregory gave a benefaction for founding an Exhi bition of £100 a year, for four years, at Oxford or Cambridge, for a student from Harrow School.
The present Earl Spencer has founded an Exhibition for students from Harrow School of £30 a year, tenable either at Oxford or Cambridge,
THIS school must have been in existence and of some repute before the year 1662, as in that year John Wild, gentleman, of Edmonton, by his will bequeathed to James Winstanley, and other trustees, certain lands and houses in Edmonton, upon trust for various uses, one of which was, that out of the rents and profits they should pay every year to the schoolmaster the sum of £4 for teaching four poor men's sons of the parish of Edmonton.
Mr Wild also directed that the trustees should pay every year the sum of £7 from the rents and profits to the maintenance of one poor scholar at Cambridge for four years; or if he abide there till he be a Master of Arts, to be continued three years longer.
THE PROPRIETARY GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.
INSTITUTED 1831, A.D.
THIS school was established to provide a sound and efficient course of education, including religious and moral instruction, in conformity with the principles of the Church of England.
There are three Exhibitions of £50 a year attached to this school, one of which is offered for competition every year. Students who compete for an exhibition must not exceed nineteen years of age, nor be of less than four years' standing in the school at the time of election. The exhibitioner may proceed either to Oxford, Cambridge, or Dublin, and may hold his exhibition for three years.
COUNTY OF NORFOLK.
THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.
THIS free grammar-school was originally founded by Bishop Salmon, and established in the time of Edward VI. by whom a charter was granted to the city, and revenues assigned for a schoolmaster and usher, both of whom were to be nominated by the mayor of Norwich
and the majority of the aldermen for the time being, wheneve vacancy should happen.
1557. John Caius, M.D. founded Scholarships at Gonville Caius College, some of which are appropriated to Norwich School the county of Norfolk; and three fellowships which are restricted natives of the county. (See pp. 231–235.)
1567. Archbishop Parker founded three Scholarships at Cor] Christi College, each of the value of £2. 13s. 4d. per annum, and pla the nomination to them in the mayor and aldermen of Norwich, of the schools of that city or the town of Aylsham.
1569. Archbishop Parker also founded two other Scholarships scholars out of the schools of Norwich, Wymondham, or Aylsha being natives of these places.
1574. By indenture Archbishop Parker appointed a sixth Schol to be elected and sent by the corporation of Norwich in the san manner as the other scholars. (See pp. 253–256.)
1586. Archbishop Parker founded one Scholarship at Trini Hall for a student of the Civil Law. (See p. 247.)
1618. William Branthwaite, D.D. founded four Scholarships | Emmanuel College, each of the value of £5 per annum, for studen from Norwich School. (See p. 364.)
1626. John Gostlyn, M.D. gave £5 per annum to Gonville and Caius College, for four Scholars born in the city of Norwich. (Se p. 238.)
1635. Matthew Stokys founded three Scholarships at Gonville and Caius College, two of which are in the appointment of the college, and are to be given to natives of the county of Norfolk. (See p. 238.)
1659. Edward Coleman, Esq. M.A. left to Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, an annuity of £20 charged on his estate at Wymondham towards the maintenance of four Scholars from the free schools of Norwich and Wymondham; with the proviso, that any one of his own name, admitted of this college, might enjoy the whole sum. (See p. 257.)
1669. John Cosin, D.D. founded five Scholarships at St Peter's College, with a third preference to students from Norwich School. (See p. 210.)
1736. Rev. C. Clarke founded an Exhibition at Christ's College, with a preference to a student from Norwich school. (See p. 300.) 1745. Lady Drury founded two Exhibitions at Christ's College, with a preference to students from Norwich School. (See p. 300.)
THE school at King's Lynn was founded in the reign of Henry VII by Thomas Thoresby, alderman of Lynn, who endowed it with hands in the parish of Gaywood, which now produce about £60 a year. After the dissolution of the religious houses, the crown seized the enLowment of the school, which, however, was not alienated, but vested n the corporation.
1585. John Titley, by his will, expressed his design to establish Scholarship or Fellowship in Emmanuel College, Cambridge; and drs Titley, his widow, by her will dated 14th Feb. 1595, appointed €130 to be paid to the mayor and corporation of Lynn, upon trust, to at the same out at the yearly interest of £9. 15s. of which £8 was > find two scholars in Emmanuel College for the year.
In the year 1657 the mayor and burgesses covenanted with the ollege, that there should be in Emmanuel College two places, called Lynn Scholarships, or Mr Titley's; the mayor and burgesses to choose such scholars from the grammar-school, qualified according to the statutes of the University, and to send them to the said college, there to remain for seven years. And it was further covenanted, that the mayor and burgesses should pay £11 yearly to the college, of which £4 was to be paid to each of the said scholars, £2 to the master and fellows, and £1 to the use of the college: and that one moiety of all arrears, if any, should be bestowed upon the scholars or scholar succeeding to any vacancy, and the other moiety upon the said college. In consequence of these two exhibitions not having been claimed for some time, the accumulations amounted to £132 at Michaelmas 1854. These accumulations are always given to the exhibitioners next elected.
1597. Alexander Hall, by his will, dated July 27 in this year, gave to William Hall his warehouse in King's Lynn, upon condition that he and his heirs and assigns, should pay in the south porch of St Margaret's church, forty shillings yearly, for seven years, to the next poor Scholar born in the town of King's Lynn that should go from thence to the University of Cambridge, and so likewise for ever thenceforth to other like poor scholars; with a proviso, that if ever the said William Hall, his heirs or assigns, should not so pay the said sum within eighteen days after reasonable demand by such poor scholar, the said warehouse should become vested in the mayor, &c. of King's
Lynn, subjected to the like payment. When this exhibition claimed, the accumulations are not payable to the next elected e tioner.
1615. Rev. Thomas Hopes, by his will, left an Exhibit £3. 6s. 8d. to a poor scholar for five years, at Trinity College had been educated at the grammar-school of King's Lynn. p. 348.)
1623. John Peirson, by his will, devised the residue of c property to the mayor and burgesses of King's Lynn, to the i that they should pay to any poor scholar in Cambridge forty shi a year during the first seven years of his abiding there, if he sl continue to reside so long in the University. This exhibition ma held in conjunction with any of the other exhibitions from ] School.
In consequence of this exhibition not having been applied there was an accumulation of £26 at Michaelmas 1854, which wi given to the next elected exhibitioner.
1708. Rev. Thomas Thurlyn, D.D. by his will, remitted to mayor and burgesses the sum of £200 which they were indebte him, upon condition that they should pay £6 per annum, for years, to a poor Scholar who should go from the grammar-schoo Lynn to St John's College, Cambridge. (See p. 322.)
The accumulations from this exhibition at Michaelmas 18 amounted to £69, and will be given to the next elected exhibitione
THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.
FOUNDED 1517, A.D.
THIS school was founded by Robert Jannys, mayor of the city Norwich, and endowed with £10 a year, payable out of the manor Pakenham.
1567. Archbishop Parker founded Scholarships at Corpus Christ College for students from this school. (See pp. 253, 254.)
1580. John Parker, Esq. son of Archbishop Parker, founded three Scholarships at Corpus Christi College, one of which is appropri ated to a scholar from Aylsham school, being also a native of that place. (See p. 256.)