« AnteriorContinuar »
University Almanac, 1888-89,
Aug. 28, Tu.-Last day for receiving notices of Supplementary and Matriculation Examinations (Law Faculty).
Sept. 4, Tu.-Session (Law Faculty) begins.
Examinations (Law Faculty).
Matriculation and Supplementary
-Registration and payment of class fees (Law Faculty).
"-Meeting of Law Faculty, 4 P. M.
6, Th.-Meeting of Senate, 11 A. M.
F.-Meeting of Faculty of Arts, 11 A. M.-Meeting of Faculty of Law, 4 P.M. 11, Tu.-3 P. M., Registration of Candidates for Matriculation and Bursary
W.-Session (Arts Faculty) begins.-Examinations for Senior and Junior
3 P. M., Elementary Mechanics and Botany.
"-Supplementary Examinations (Arts Faculty) begin, 10 A. M.
Matriculation, Registration, and Issue of Gymnasium Tickets, 2 P. M. 24, M.-Class Tickets (Arts Faculty) issued, 11 A. M.-Meeting of Faculty of
Law, 4 P. M.
25, Tu.-CONVOCATION, 3 P M.-Opening address by Hon. S. L. Shannon, D. C. L., Q. C.
Last day for receiving applications for Medical Matriculation Examination.
9, Tu.-Registration of candidates for Medical Matriculation Examination.
16, Tu.-Meeting of Faculty of Arts, 1 P. M.
18, Th.-Meeting of Faculty of Arts, 4 P. M.
F. Returns as to residence, &c., to be made on or before this day.
F.-Last day for receiving M. A. Theses.
W.-Ash Wednesday. No lectures.
M.-Meeting of Senate, 4 P. M.
F. Last day of Lectures (Arts Faculty).-Meeting of Faculty of Arts,
4 P. M.
M.-Meeting of Governors.
W.-Sessional Examinations (Arts Faculty) begin :
10 A. M., Ethics, Addl. Latin (1st and 2nd years), Hon. Greek, Hon. Math., Hon. Exp. Phys., Hon. Phil.
3 P. M., Addl. Latin 3rd and 4th years).
10 A. M., Mathematics, Physics (3rd and 4th years).
3 P. M., History (3rd year), Hon. Latin, Hon. Chemistry, Hon. History.
10 A. M., Logic, Hon. Greek, Hon. Math. Phys., Hon. Exp. Phys., Hon. Phil.
3 P. M., Organic Chemistry, English (1st year), Hon. English. 10 A. M., English (2nd, 3rd and 4th years).
3 P. M., German.
10 A. M., Greek, Hon. Math., Hon. Phil., Hon. Hist., Hon. Chem. 10 A. M., Inorganic Chemistry, History (4th year.)
3 P. M., Metaphysics, Prac. Chemistry, Addl. Greek (1st and 2nd years), Hon. Latin.
10 A. M., Mathematics, Dynamics, Political Economy, Hon. Exp. Phys.
3 P. M., Addl. Greek (3rd and 4th years), Hon. Phil., Hon. Hist. 10 A.M., Addl. Mathematics, Addl. Physics and Dynamics, Hon.
10 A. M., Hon. Latin, Hon. Math., Hon. Phil., Hon. Chem.
Sa. Meeting of the Faculty of Arts, 10 A. M.
23, Tu.-Meeting of the Senate, 10 A. M.-Results of Sessional Examinations
25, Th.-3 P. M., CONVOCATION.
DALHOUSIE COLLEGE was founded by the Earl of Dalhousie in 1821, "for the education of youth in the higher branches of science and literature."
The original endowment was derived from funds collected at the port of Castine in Maine, during its occupation in 1814 by Sir John C. Sherbrooke, then Lieutenant-Governor of Nova Scotia. These funds the British Government authorized the Earl of Dalhousie, Sir John's successor, to expend "in defraying the expenses of any improvement which it might seem expedient to undertake in the province "; and the Earl, believing that "a Seminary for the higher branches of education is much needed in Halifax -the seat of the Legislature of the courts of justice--of the military and mercantile Society," decided upon founding a College or Academy on the same plan and principle of that at Edinburgh,' open to all occupations and sects of religion, restricted to such branches only as are applicable to our present state, and having the power to expand with the growth and improvement of our society."
The original Board of Governors consisted of the Governor-General of British North America, the Lieutenant-Governor of Nova Scotia, the Bishop, the Chief Justice and President of Council, the Provincial Treasurer and the Speaker of the House of Assembly.
After unsuccessful efforts on the part of both the British Government and the Board of Governors to effect a union with King's College, the only other then existing in the Province, this College went into operation in 1838, under the Presidency of the Rev. Thomas McCulloch, D. D., and with a staff of three Professors.
By an Act passed in 1841, University powers were conferred on the College, and the appointment of the Governors was vested in the Lieutenant-Governor and Council.
In 1843, President McCulloch died, and in 1845 the College was closed, the Governors considering it "advisable to allow the funds of the institution to accumulate."
In 1848, an Act was passed authorizing the Lieutenant-Governor and Council to appoint a new board of Governors "to take such steps for rendering the institution useful and efficient as to His Excellency may seem fit." This Board, from 1849 to 1859, employed the funds of the University to support a High School.
In 1856, the Arts department of the Gorham College, Liverpool, N. S., was transferred to this College, "with a view to the furtherance of the establishment of a Provincial University," and an attempt was made to conduct the Institution as a University, in pursuance of the Act of 1841. This union, however, came to an end in 1857.