« AnteriorContinuar »
MORRIS MEMORIAL COLLEGE, NAGPUR,
AFFILIATED IN ARTS AND SCIENCE, 1905.
This College was established in 1885 to commemorate the long connection with the Central Provinces of Sir John Morris, late Chief Commissioner, by associating his name with an institution for the promotion of higher education. The College was maintained partly out of the interest of the money subscribed by the people of the Nagpur and Chhattisgarh divisions of the Central Provinces and partly by grants made by the Local Government and the Municipal Committee of Nagpur. The subscribers to the College Fund were registered under Act XXI of 1860 as "the Nagpur Morris College Association," and the institution was under the direction of a Council consisting of eight members, viz., the Commissioner of the Nagpur Division, the Deputy Commissioner of the Nagpur District, the Director of Agriculture, Central Provinces, the Inspector of Schools, Nagpur Circle, and four members appointed by the benefactors, the District Council, Nagpur, the Municipal Committee, Nagpur, and the members of the Nagpur Bar, In 1906 a member of the Indian Educational Service was appointed Principal of the College, and in the following year a member of the same service was appointed Professor of English. A third member of the Indian Educational Service was appointed to the staff in 1914. The expenses of these three members of the staff were defrayed by the Local Government. The Government largely increased its aid, and in 1911 handed over to the College the historic building known as the Residency with its extensive grounds. A new hostel capable of accommodating 80 students was opened in July, 1912. The College became a Government Institution on July 1st, 1915.
The College is affiliated up to the LL.B. standard in Law; the M.A. standard in Sanskrit, Mathematics, English. Philosophy, History and Persian; the B.A. standard in all
subjects; and the B.Sc. standard in Science. The teaching for the Science courses is carried on in Victoria College of Science, which is close to Morris College. The tuition fees are Rs. 7-8 per mensem for all classes.
Principal and Professor of
F. P. Tostevin, B.A. (Oxon.),
Professor of English and His- F. M. Cheshire, B.A. (Cantab.),
History and Theology Triposes.
Maneksha Hoshangba Nanavati, M.A., LL.B. (Bom.).
Nilam Ranganatham, B.A, (Mad.).
English and His- Hirdenarain, M.A., B.T. (Punj.)
K. G. Tamhau, M.A. (All.)'
Honours in Sanskrit Language, Literature and Law.
Do. Philosophy and S. C. Roy, M.A. (Cal.), Philo
sophy and English.
S. P. Banerji, M.A. (Cal.),
Sadashio Ralaji Belekar, M.A.
Persian and Ara- Mohd. Abdul Ghani, M.A. (All.).
The Hon'ble Mr. G. P. Dick,
P. S. Kotwal (O x o n.), B.A.,
English and Logic Mr. Bhagwant Rao L. Powar.
M.A., LL.B. (All.),
J. C. Ghosh, B.A., B.L. (Cal.).
Inspected-3rd January, 1912, and 3rd
AFFILIATED IN ARTS AND SCIENCE, 1905.
The Hislop College was opened in 1884 as an affiliated College of Calcutta University, but was affiliated to Allahabad University in 1905. The College teaches up to M.A. and B.Sc. standards. The buildings consist of two large blocks of two storeys, joined by two wings, having an open quadrangle within. The College is named in honour of the Rev. Stephen Hislop, the eminent Geologist and founder of the Scottish Mission in Nagpur.
Connected with the College is the U. F. C. Institution consisting of a High, Middle and Primary School. The classes of the Institution are quite separate from the College and are mostly accommodated in a two-storeyed building situated some distance behind the College building. The total cost of College and School buildings came to about Rs. 1,03,000 of which Rs. 10,000 was contributed by the Rev. J. G. Cooper, a former Principal of the College, and the rest by the Foreign Missions Committee of the United Free Church of Scotland, the Local Government and private friends. On two beautiful sites on the Jumna Talao there is a large College Hostel able to accommodate over 60 students, and a separate Hostel for over 40 boys; the total cost being about Rs. 34,000. There is also in the Civil Station an Indian Christian Hostel able to acommodate 40 boarders. It cost about Rs. 8,000. These Hostels are under efficient European Superintendents.
A prize of the annual value of Rs. 28, and called the "Cooper Memorial Prize," is awarded to the student who passes the Matriculation Examination with the highest marks in History and Geography.
The College fees are Rs. 6-8 for M.A. classes, Rs. 4 for B.Sc., B.A. and Intermediate classes.
Principal and Prof. of Biology Rev. Dr. Robertson, M. B., C.M.
(Glasgow), Botany, Zoology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Anatomy, Medicine, Surgery.
Professor of Philosophy and Jas. Bremner, M.A (Aberdeen), English.
Mathematics, (Hons.) Philosophy, Logic, English Literature, Latin and Greek.
Professor of Political Economy Rev. J. F. McFadyan, MA. and English.
Political Economy, Psychology, English Literature, Logic and Mathematics.
Prof. of English and History ... Rev. T. W. Gardiner, M.A.
(Cambridge), History Tripos.
G. K. Garde, M.A., (All.),
D. D. Jatar, M.A. (All.), Sans-
B. Chakerbutty, M A. (Cal.)
Do. English and History ... S. Banerji, M.A. (Cal.), History.
Do. Logic and Sanskrit
K. Chatterji, M.A. (Cal.), Political Economy (Hons.), and History (Hons.).
G. Kher, B.A., Previous M.A.
M. M. Kabir, B.A. (All.),
Do. English and History ... B. N. Gadre, B.A. (All.),
History, Political Economy.
R. Joshi, B.A. (Cal.), English.
EWING CHRISTIAN COLLEGE, ALLAHABAD. Inspected-15th August, 1914 and 8th March, 1915. AFFILIATED IN ARTS, 1903, 1905, AND 1908; IN SCIENCE, 1905 AND 1909.
In October, 1846, the British East India Company transferred its College work at Allahabad to the American Presbyterian Mission. When the British Civil Station was removed from the Jumna in 1853, the Mission purchased the Court building for educational purposes and started a Collegiate School. After a few years College classes were abolished and School classes alone continued, the institution being known as the Jumna Mission School or the A. P. Mission High School.
In 1900 the American Presbyterian Mission decided to reopen College work at Allahabad, and the First Class was begun in 1902. In order to keep School and College separate, the old Court building was demolished and a new School building erected at the western end of the Jumna compound, thus leaving the eastern end free for the College buildings and campus.
The College end contains the following buildings :-A main College building with an Assembly Hall to seat 1,000; a Laboratory for Physics and one for Chemistry; an Infirmary; ten residences for Members of the Staff; five Hostels, the total accommodation being approximately 200. Four of the Hostels are arranged with suites of rooms for one or more unmarried Professors. Another building, with room for 35, is rented near by in the city.
Two hundred and seventy acres of land have been acquired for an Agricultural Department immediately opposite the College on the Jumna, and courses were begun from July, 1912.
The number of students enrolled in 1917-18 was 521 not including 48 in the Agricultural Department.